Implementing Ideas I’ve Gained From The Hyperlinked Library MOOC

Earlier this week I attended the Internet Librarian Conference, ILI 2013. This is my favourite library conference and I’ve attended (and spoken at) 14 of the 15 conferences. It is also the conference were I often meet Michael Stephens, a regular inspirational speaker at the event.

This year I ran a day-long workshop on “Future Technologies and Their Applications“. As I described in a blog post about the workshop I used the planning for the deployment of emerging technologies which formed the basis of the Emerging Technology Planning assignment on this MOOC.

The slides I used for this particular exercise are available on Slideshare and embedded below. Many thanks to Michael and Kyle for showing me this approach which helped me in the preparation and delivery of the workshop. Note that the slides I used in the workshop are available with a Creative Commons licence and I invite others who may have responsibilities for delivering such workshop to make use of these resources.

[iframe src="http://www.slideshare.net/slideshow/embed_code/27094969?rel=0" width="427" height="356" frameborder="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" scrolling="no" style="border:1px solid #CCC;border-width:1px 1px 0;margin-bottom:5px" allowfullscreen]

4 thoughts on “Implementing Ideas I’ve Gained From The Hyperlinked Library MOOC”

  1. Brian – This is very cool. I look forward to going through your slides. I really missed London and all the ILI folk this year. Hope to see you next year – any dates announced?

    1. You may also like this tweet. Interesting to see how ideas from the MOOC are being picked up elsewhere. In this case, I used it in an assignment. Decided I liked it and used it in my workshop. Posted a summary of the workshop on my blog and tweeted about it. Someone saw the tweet, read the post and tweeted about it to her network. The hyperlinked community in action :-)

      I think I saw a message giving a date for ILI 2014, but didn’t keep a record, I’m afraid. Hope you can make it,

      1. I’m going to “steal” the idea in the Tweet as well – would love to see what my colleagues at work could come up with to fill in the blanks!

Leave a Reply

